Eel Get You While Scuba Diving.

Honeycomb moray eel

Honeycomb moray eel

Very glad I am not my camera taking a picture of this honeycomb moray eel while scuba diving. Or, more specifically, my frame-limit indicator – which gets snapped-off and dragged back inside this eels’ hole. And there’s no way I’m sticking my hand in to retrieve it. No way. Honeycomb moray eel One – Scuba diver Zero.

So there I am, trying to get as close as possible to this eel. Click. Steady now. Click, click… Slowly now. Very good Mr, or Mrs, Eel. You stay right there. Click. That’s it, pose for me. Good, show some teeth. I’m liking it. Just a little closer. A little more. Click.

I remember a yellow blur and feel something hitting me in the face. I clench my eyes shut, push myself away from the reef and wait for the pain. I feel a tug and hear a loud snap. Shit, that must be my nose being broken by the eel. Luckily it’s not. The honeycomb moray eel slips back into its hole in an instant. I’m pretty much shaken-up but come out unscathed and complete the rest of the dive without my frame-limit indicator; and continuously looking back over my scuba diving cylinder.

Leave a Reply

